Home › Comparisons › MargBooks

Nesayo vs MargBooks

MargBooks (Marg Compusoft's cloud product) has a dedicated pharmacy edition with expiry tracking, batch/rack management and GST-compliant invoicing. It's a genuine pharmacy tool, not generic retail billing. Here's an honest, feature-by-feature comparison.

Last reviewed 2026-10-14. Competitor data taken from https://margbooks.com/pricing.html.

Don't take our word for it — the quickest way to compare is to try both.

No download to install and no demo call to book: you can drive Nesayo right now — the real product on a sample pharmacy, no signup.

▶ Try the real Nesayo now — 60-sec tour

Feature by feature

FeatureNesayoMargBooks
Deployment Cloud web app — any browser, install as PWA on phone Cloud-based
Pricing (per margbooks.com, India, GST exclusive, September 2026) Billing free forever; Essential ₹249/mo; Full ₹549/mo — new pharmacies get Full free for their first month (as of October 2026) Gold ₹5,400/yr (1 user, 1 GSTIN, 5,000 invoices) up to Platinum Plus ₹29,700/yr (2 users, 2 GSTIN, 1 lakh invoices); Enterprise is contact-us
Free plan Yes — unlimited billing, free forever, no card No free plan — 7-day free trial only, per margbooks.com
Per-invoice / add-on costs None on the free billing tier Extra invoice ₹0.80 each beyond plan limit; invoice/barcode design ₹2,500 each, per margbooks.com
Medicine database included 2,54,034 medicines indexed, instant search Not stated on margbooks.com — stock entry is manual/import based
Expiry management Batch-level expiry tracking, FEFO auto-selection, hard-blocks expired stock from sale Expiry Management listed as a feature; prioritizes older stock by expiration, per margbooks.com/pharmacy-software.html
Batch numbers on invoice Yes, recorded per sale Yes — records of batch numbers and expiry dates, per margbooks.com/pharmacy-software.html
Schedule H/H1 register (named, per D&C Rules Rule 65) Schedule H1 sales logged at billing (patient, prescriber, medicine, batch, quantity); the pharmacist adds the prescriber's address Not named on margbooks.com as of September 2026 — no Schedule H or H1 register mentioned on their site
FEFO (First Expiry First Out), named Named and automatic The underlying behavior (older stock prioritized by expiration) is described; the term FEFO does not appear on margbooks.com as of September 2026
Prescription management AI Vision reads a prescription photo into a draft bill Prescription Management listed as a feature on margbooks.com/pharmacy-software.html; photo-scan capability not stated
Rack management Not offered — no shelf/rack location tracking Rack Management listed as a feature, per margbooks.com/pharmacy-software.html
Re-order management Stock Sense agent + distributor ordering with WhatsApp confirmation link Re-order Management listed as a feature, per margbooks.com/pharmacy-software.html
Voice billing English, Hindi and Hinglish (voice beta) Not listed on margbooks.com as of September 2026
AI agents (Morning Briefing, Expiry Guard, Refill Radar, Stock Sense, Payment Advisor) 5 named autonomous agents, scheduled Not listed on margbooks.com as of September 2026
E-Way Bill generation Not offered Listed as a feature, per margbooks.com/pharmacy-software.html
E-Invoice Not offered Listed as a feature, per margbooks.com/pharmacy-software.html
GST-compliant invoices with HSN codes Yes, 5% default for medicines (HSN 3004) Yes, per margbooks.com/pharmacy-software.html
GSTR-1 / GSTR-3B export Yes Not itemized on the pharmacy feature page; GST-compliant invoicing is stated
Multi-branch / multi-GSTIN Multiple branches share one owner account and stock visibility Platinum Plus supports 2 GSTIN; Enterprise (contact-us) covers multi-branch, per margbooks.com
User limits No per-user pricing on billing free tier 1 user on Gold/Diamond, 2 users on Platinum/Platinum Plus, per margbooks.com

MargBooks is a real pharmacy tool — not generic retail billing

It's worth saying plainly: MargBooks is not a general-purpose billing app pressed into pharmacy use. Marg Compusoft ships a dedicated pharmacy edition (margbooks.com/pharmacy-software.html) that lists Expiry Management, Prescription Management, Rack Management, Re-order Management, E-Way Bill generation and E-Invoice as named features, plus GST-compliant invoices with HSN codes and records of batch numbers and expiry dates. That's a genuine pharmacy feature set, and any comparison that pretends otherwise isn't an honest one.

The gap isn't capability — it's naming and cost. Two specific things don't appear on margbooks.com as of September 2026: the terms "Schedule H1 register" and "FEFO" (First Expiry First Out) do not show up anywhere on the site, even though the underlying behavior they describe (batch/expiry tracking, older stock prioritized by expiration) clearly overlaps with what those terms mean. For a pharmacist who specifically needs to show a Schedule H1 register at inspection under D&C Rules Rule 65, it isn't clear from MargBooks' own marketing whether that register — in the specific format an inspector expects — is what the product produces, or whether it needs to be assembled by hand from the batch/expiry records the software does keep.

The pricing floor: no free tier, four paid slabs

MargBooks' pricing (margbooks.com/pricing.html, India, 1 year, GST exclusive, as of September 2026) runs Gold ₹5,400/yr (1 user, 1 GSTIN, 5,000 invoices), Diamond ₹8,100/yr (1 user, 1 GSTIN, 12,000 invoices), Platinum ₹15,300/yr (2 users, 1 GSTIN, 30,000 invoices), Platinum Plus ₹29,700/yr (2 users, 2 GSTIN, 1 lakh invoices), with Enterprise on contact-us pricing for multi-branch. There's a 7-day free trial, not a free-forever tier, and invoices beyond a plan's cap cost ₹0.80 each, with invoice or barcode design templates at ₹2,500 each.

Nesayo's billing tier has no equivalent floor — it's free forever, unlimited bills, no card, with no invoice cap to run into. The optional Full plan (voice billing, prescription photo scan, all 5 agents) is ₹549/month as of October 2026, and new pharmacies get it free for their first month. For a single-counter pharmacy on Gold at ₹5,400/year, the honest comparison is: MargBooks charges from day one for invoicing itself; Nesayo doesn't charge for invoicing at any volume, and only charges for the AI layer on top.

Where the choice genuinely depends on the shop

A pharmacy that already needs E-Way Bill generation or E-Invoice — typically higher-volume or B2B-adjacent operations — has a reason to look at MargBooks that Nesayo doesn't currently answer; those two features aren't on Nesayo's roadmap described here. Rack management (a physical shelf-location lookup) is another MargBooks feature Nesayo doesn't offer today.

Conversely, a shop that wants voice billing at the counter, a photo-to-bill prescription scan, or Schedule H1 sales logged at billing (patient, prescriber, medicine, batch, quantity, with the prescriber's address added by the pharmacist) rather than assembled from generic batch records, gets that from Nesayo and doesn't see it listed on MargBooks' public pharmacy feature page as of this review. Neither product is strictly better across every row — the fit depends on which specific features a shop actually uses daily.

Frequently asked questions

Is MargBooks good for pharmacies?

Yes — MargBooks has a dedicated pharmacy edition (margbooks.com/pharmacy-software.html) listing Expiry Management, Prescription Management, Rack Management, Re-order Management, E-Way Bill generation, E-Invoice and GST-compliant invoicing with HSN codes and batch/expiry records. It is a genuine pharmacy-oriented product, not generic retail billing repurposed for pharmacies.

Does MargBooks have a free plan?

No. As of September 2026, margbooks.com/pricing.html lists a 7-day free trial and four paid annual plans starting at Gold ₹5,400/year (1 user, 1 GSTIN, 5,000 invoices) — there is no free-forever tier. Nesayo's billing plan is free forever with no invoice limit.

Does MargBooks have a Schedule H1 register?

MargBooks' public pharmacy feature page does not name "Schedule H1 register" or "FEFO" as of September 2026 (0 mentions on the site, verified 2026-09-21), though it does list Expiry Management and batch-number/expiry-date record-keeping, which cover related ground. If your pharmacy specifically needs a Schedule H1 register in the format D&C Rules Rule 65 expects, verify directly with Marg Compusoft whether their expiry/batch tracking produces that register or needs manual assembly. Nesayo logs Schedule H1 sales automatically at billing: date, medicine, batch, quantity and bill number, with the patient and prescriber names entered on the bill. Nesayo does not record the prescriber's address yet, so the pharmacist adds it to complete the Rule 65(3)(h) register.

How much does MargBooks cost per year?

Per margbooks.com/pricing.html as of September 2026 (India, 1 year, GST exclusive): Gold ₹5,400 (1 user, 1 GSTIN, 5,000 invoices), Diamond ₹8,100 (1 user, 1 GSTIN, 12,000 invoices), Platinum ₹15,300 (2 users, 1 GSTIN, 30,000 invoices), Platinum Plus ₹29,700 (2 users, 2 GSTIN, 1 lakh invoices). Enterprise (multi-branch) is contact-us pricing. Extra invoices beyond the plan cap are ₹0.80 each.

Does MargBooks have voice billing or a prescription photo scanner?

Not as listed on margbooks.com as of September 2026 — no voice billing and no photo-based prescription scanning appear on their pricing or pharmacy feature pages. Nesayo supports voice billing in English, Hindi and Hinglish (voice beta) and reads a prescription photo into a draft bill.

Which is cheaper, Nesayo or MargBooks?

On pure billing, Nesayo — free forever versus MargBooks' cheapest plan at ₹5,400/year (as of September 2026, per margbooks.com/pricing.html), before any per-invoice overage. If you want Nesayo's AI layer (voice, photo scan, 5 autonomous agents), that's the Full plan at ₹549/month (as of October 2026) — still below MargBooks' higher tiers (Platinum Plus is ₹29,700/year) and new pharmacies get it free for their first month.

Does MargBooks support multiple users or GSTINs?

Yes, on its higher tiers — Platinum (₹15,300/yr) supports 2 users on 1 GSTIN, and Platinum Plus (₹29,700/yr) supports 2 users on 2 GSTINs, per margbooks.com/pricing.html as of September 2026. Multi-branch operations go through their Enterprise plan, which is contact-us pricing.

Can I switch from MargBooks to Nesayo without losing my stock data?

Yes. Export your stock list from MargBooks and upload it to Nesayo — the import matches columns by what the header means rather than requiring an exact template, and Nesayo's catalogue fills in manufacturer, HSN, GST and a schedule hint for names it recognises, while keeping everything your file already states.

Does MargBooks handle E-Way Bill or E-Invoice generation?

Yes — both are listed as features on margbooks.com/pharmacy-software.html as of September 2026. Nesayo does not currently offer E-Way Bill or E-Invoice generation; a pharmacy that needs those specifically has a real reason to consider MargBooks.

Not ready to switch? Free tools, no signup:

Check any medicine's Schedule (H1/H/X), look up its HSN code and GST rate, or decode a printed expiry date — nesayo.com/tools.

Free billing, no invoice cap, no annual plan to buy

Try Nesayo's free billing tier alongside whatever you use today — no card, no trial countdown, nothing to migrate until you decide.

Start free →

Disclaimer: This comparison is based on publicly-listed features and pricing of MargBooks as of 2026-10-14. Vendors update their products frequently — always verify current features and pricing directly on the vendor's website. Nesayo has no commercial relationship with MargBooks. No trademarks belonging to MargBooks are used other than to identify the competitor product, which is permitted nominative fair use under Indian Trade Marks Act.